Our School‎ > ‎Arts & Culture‎ > ‎Arts at Dio‎ > ‎

Latest Arts News

Lord of the Flies Production Postponed

posted 17 Mar 2020, 13:23 by Georgina Hewitt   [ updated 17 Mar 2020, 15:11 ]

Dear Dio Community

In light of the government advice given to schools regarding gatherings and assemblies etc, and keeping the health and wellbeing of our students and the Dio community at the forefront of our decision-making process, we are suspending rehearsals and performances of the school production of ‘Lord of the Flies’. This will be a postponement rather than a cancellation and rehearsals and performances will resume at a later date once it is considered safe to do so.

Students involved in the production should be reassured that all of their hard work will not be lost and a timeline towards performance will be put in place and communicated as soon as it is possible for us to do so. 

For those who have already purchased tickets, a full refund will be available as soon as it can be organised. However tickets can be held over until such time as the performances go ahead. 

While this is obviously disappointing for all who are involved in the production, the health and wellbeing of our students and the Dio community will always be our first priority.

If you have any questions about the Production in the interim, please do not hesitate to contact Arts Administrator, Georgina Hewitt on 07 855 2038 extension 2864 or email ghewitt@wdsg.school.nz 


Warm regards,



Lee Armitage                                                                           Georgina Hewitt

Director - Lord of the Flies                                                       Producer - Lord of the Flies

Lord of the Flies - Tickets on Sale

posted 4 Mar 2020, 23:29 by Georgina Hewitt   [ updated 9 Mar 2020, 12:56 ]

Tickets are available now from the Dio School Shop 07 855 2038 ext 2766 or schoolshop@wdsg.school.nz
Shop opening hours 8.15am-4pm Monday-Friday. Tickets cannot be disbursed to an account. They must be paid for via cash, EftPOS, or credit card (with 1.5% surcharge). 


Waikato Diocesan School For Girls’ major production for 2020 is ‘Lord of the Flies’. On a beach somewhere in the pacific ocean, a group of teenagers survive a plane crash. It seems idyllic, this tropical paradise of no adults and no rules...until it isn’t anymore and things go very bad, very fast. 

With a dark and intense soundtrack, played live by a band on stage, and a set of sand and broken plane and jungle....this extremely physical version of the classic novel brings alive the fear and horror of William Goulding’s ‘Lord of the Flies’. Focusing on the idea of what makes us human, rather than on the traditional masculine themes, this production of ‘Lord of the Flies’ will have audiences on the edge of their seats, quietly asking themselves ‘What would I do?’. 

The impact of technology and the pervasive nature of social media in our lives hasn’t dulled the relevance of William Goulding’s comment on civilization. In fact, in this age of digital bullying, it’s even more important for teenagers to talk about what is right and wrong. Do you join in so you feel safe within the group that has the power? Do you do nothing and is that almost as bad? Or do you stand up against something you believe is wrong but do so knowing this may well put a target on your own back? 

If you have any questions please contact Georgina Hewitt, Arts Administrator arts@wdsg.school.nz 

Annual Cake Art Competition and Auction

posted 2 Mar 2020, 18:05 by Georgina Hewitt   [ updated 3 Mar 2020, 17:30 ]

Cake Art Competition and Auction!
This Thursday in PMC.

Decorate your cake or cupcake in any of the 3 categories and bring it to the PMC Kitchen before school. Fill in the entry form and you will get House points. Forms will be available in the morning or you can print out your own from the bottom of this page.

At lunchtime these cakes will be auctioned off raising money for our school charity, so put your money together with some friends and have cake for Lunch - or with your form class and have cake during extended form time!

A slideshow of last years entries can be found here 

Arts Extra Curricular Sign ups now LIVE!

posted 28 Jan 2020, 17:54 by Georgina Hewitt   [ updated 30 Jan 2020, 14:58 ]

The Arts and Cultural Registrations are now live, please fill out the below form. 
Please sign up while looking at the Updated Co-Curricular Guide.
Students will need to sign in using their WDSG email address.

Instrument and Performance Lessons use a different hard copy form, which is available from Student Services (or see PDF below)

If you have any questions please contact ghewitt@wdsg.school.nz 

2020 Arts Sign-up Form

For Sports Sign up, please go to the Sports page here

Y8 Arts Information

posted 14 Nov 2019, 18:38 by Georgina Hewitt

Thank you to those who chatted to the Arts team today. It was lovely to meet you.
There was quite a lot of information today, so here is a summary of all the information with a few links

Information on the 2020 Production and Auditions can be found here
Information on the auditions for the 2020 Bel Suono Choir are here 
A copy of the overview of the Arts at Dio is here
A copy of the Performance Enrolement form is here 
A copy of the 2019 extra curricular guide is here as a reference, an updated copy for 2020 will be sent to you as soon as it is completed. 

If you have any questions, please email ghewitt@wdsg.school.nz  

Arts Awards 2019

posted 28 Oct 2019, 17:47 by Georgina Hewitt   [ updated 28 Oct 2019, 17:49 ]

Thank you to everyone who attended the Arts Awards evening on Thursday 24 October 2019
Special thank you to our guest speakers Vienna and Taaniko Nordstrom from Soliders Rd Portraits 
A warm welcome to our 6th Inductee into the Arts Hall of Fame, Hannah McFarlane. 

Photos from the evening can be found here 

A full list of winners is as follows:

Arts Awards 2019 for Publication

Arts Showcase

posted 18 Sep 2019, 14:50 by Georgina Hewitt   [ updated 18 Sep 2019, 16:22 ]

Come along to the end of year celebration of our Performing Arts groups - a chance for parents, friends and loved ones to see the groups perform for fun and not for competition. Tickets are $10 available from the School Shop 07 855 2038 ext 2766 
Profits will go to the Waikato Women's Fund and the EOTC costs for 2021 Bel Suono Europe Tour.

There will also be a cash only half time concession stand fundraising for the the EOTC costs for 2021 Bel Suono Europe Tour. 

Parking via the Martin Street gate and on the Netball courts.

If you have any questions, please contact arts@wdsg.school.nz 

2020 Bel Suono Auditions

posted 9 Sep 2019, 19:08 by Georgina Hewitt   [ updated 9 Sep 2019, 19:29 ]

Please email Director of Music, Mrs Maria Colvin for an audition time mcolvin@wdsg.school.nz 

Auditions are not scary! Mrs Colvin will listen to you sing a verse and chorus of a favourite song without accompaniment or sing the National Anthem or Happy Birthday. Then she will check your vocal range, give you a few simple ear tests - sing notes from chords, repeat pitches back played on the keyboard, sing a round together and then do a really basic sight reading test! 

Please not the 2020 Bel Suono choir is not the 2021 Touring Choir to Europe, this is auditioned in 2020. More details about the proposed 2021 Choir Tour can be found here 

2020 School Production information

posted 9 Sep 2019, 13:30 by Georgina Hewitt

More information can be found on the Arts and Culture section of the school website 

The Sound of Music - tickets on sale NOW!

posted 5 Mar 2019, 13:53 by mudy@wdsg.school.nz   [ updated 5 Mar 2019, 13:54 ]

Tickets are on sale now at the school shop! 
Shop hours are 8:15am - 4:00pm, Monday to Friday. 
(phone orders 07 855 2038 etxn 2766)

1-10 of 70