Key Info‎ > ‎News@Dio‎ > ‎Latest School News‎ > ‎

Waikato Dio Students Amongst New Zealand’s Best

posted 11 Feb 2020, 17:42 by Debbie Stevens   [ updated 11 Feb 2020, 20:29 ]

Tiana Mayo and Joyce Hu

Former Waikato Diocesan School for Girls’ students Tiana Mayo and Joyce Hu are two of just 12 Premier Scholars named nationwide following the release of the NZQA Scholarship results last week. The awards recognise secondary school academic achievement of the highest order.

New Zealand Scholarship examinations test students against demanding standards and are challenging for even the highest achieving students. Between them, Tiana and Joyce were awarded 13 Scholarships including six outstanding. 

Dio’s 2019 Dux Tiana Mayo (Year 12) achieved Scholarship in Biology (outstanding), Economics (outstanding), History (outstanding), Chemistry, English, and Statistics.

Proxime Accessit and 2019 Head of Academics Joyce Hu (Year 13) achieved Scholarship in Biology (outstanding) History (outstanding), English (outstanding), Classical Studies, Geography, Health & Physical Education, and Statistics.

Both students also sat exams in 2018 while in Years 11 and 12 (respectively) - amassing a total of 18 scholarships between them.

In 2019, Tiana received the University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship, University of Waikato Te Paewai o te Rangi Scholarship for Outstanding Academic Achievement, and the University of Otago Dux Scholarship.  She is enrolled to study Computing at Waikato University.

Joyce was awarded a University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship, and a University of Otago Academic Excellence Scholarship. She is enrolled at Auckland University studying Biomedical Science.

Both students are talented orators and were heavily involved in debating throughout their secondary schooling. In 2019, Joyce was part of the team that won the Waikato Regional Debating Tournament and the Senior Premier Grade. She was also named as a reserve in the Regional Debating Team while Tiana was awarded Most Promising Debater. 

Joyce was also a finalist in the New Zealand Secondary School Law Mooting Competition and, in addition, was a member of the Dio team that won the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Analytical Chemistry Competition in 2019.

Waikato Diocesan is the only school in the Waikato to receive the honours this year and the Dio community is suitably proud. 

“These results are indicative of committed students receiving outstanding support both at school and at home, working within an inspiring and encouraging culture,” says Principal, Mary Curran.

Tiana and Joyce will be celebrated at the annual Top Scholars Awards Ceremony hosted at Parliament later this year.

Congratulations to all our 2019 Scholarship recipients. Waikato Diocesan students achieved 34 scholarships over 12 subjects, including seven Outstanding Scholarships.