Key Info‎ > ‎News@Dio‎ > ‎Latest School News‎ > ‎

Senior Prize-giving 2019

posted 24 Nov 2019, 18:11 by Debbie Stevens   [ updated 25 Nov 2019, 12:16 ]

Dux 2019, Tiana Mayo

Major Academic Awards

Year 11: First in NCEA Level 1

• Jaime Hayvice - Accounting
• OhnBee Han - Art
• Rebecca Wallace - Biology
• Kimberly Blow - Dance
• Kaia McHardie - Design and Visual Communication
• Harriet Galpin - Drama
• Slainey Wynne - Economics and Geography
• Rayhee Kim - English
• Karyse Tomlin - Fashion and Design
• Carol Hu - Food Technology and PhysiChem
• Jordana Bremner - French and Mathematics
• Sophia Kilgour - History and Level 2 Biology
• Alice Ankersmit - Lovel Cup for Literature (Alice is a Year 10 student)
• Tina Jiang - Music
• Lucy Miller - Sport and Exercise Science
• Amiria Douglas - Te Reo Māori (Amiria is a Year 9 student)

Year 12: First in NCEA Level 2

• Pei-Wan Gong - Accounting
• Poppy Brown - Art
• Danielle Gordon - Chemistry, Mathematics, Physics, Excite Trust Award for Mathematics and Science
• Maia Armistead - Classical Studies and Music
• Jiorgia Newman-Jacobs - Dance
• Shaleen Singh-Ark - Design and Te Reo Māori
• Aliyah Thotathil - Design and Visual Communication, L3 Biology, L3 English - Literature, and the Joan Harris Memorial Trophy
• Amelia Leidig - Drama
• Nicci Lee - Economics (Nicci is a Year 11 student)
• Caitlin Sharratt - English - Literature (Caitlin is a Year 11 student)
• Harman Kaur - English - Written and Visual
• Greta Glover - Fashion and Design
• Caitlyn Parrott - Food Technology
• Mikaela Blaikie - French and History
• Lara Jones - Geography and the NZ Geographical Society Trophy
• Ngarangi Mason - Greenslade Family Award - Most Inspiring NCEA Music Performance
• Jessica Falconer - Lorraine Wallace Rosebowl for Progress in Physical Sciences
• Gemma Smith - Media Studies
• Isabelle Groves - Photography
• Jessica Horrigan - Sport and Exercise Science

Year 13: First in NCEA Level 3

• Saneng Taing - Accounting and the Ankersmit Cup
• Ella Green - Art
• Anna Wilson - Broad Cup for Sciences and Physics
• Jessica Vergeest - Business Studies
• Keely Bowler - Calculus
• Joyce Hu - Chemistry and The Margaret Peapell Memorial Trophy, Geography and the Globe Trophy and Statistics
• Alison Brown - Clark-Olson Trophy Celebrating Passion for Learning in Classical Studies
• Harper Smith - Classical Studies and the Grant Cup and The Julia and Anna Smith Cup for Excellence in the Social Sciences
• Madeline Peach - Dance
• Elizabeth Chan - Design
• Caitlin Evison - Design and Visual Communication
• Kate Chibnall - Drama and the Alison Littler Cup for Senior Drama, Media Studies and Music
• Tiana Mayo - Economics, History and the History Cup and The Anderson and Nicholson Mathematics Cup (Tiana is a Year 12 student)
• Ruby Lewin - English - Written and Visual and Food Technology
• Maia Armistead - English Literature Cup (Maia is a Year 12 student)
• Josie Coombes - Erica Colbert Cup for Progress in Drama
• Kate Seager - Fashion and Design and Photography
• Emma McKay - French 1st =
• Talia Nicol - French 1st =
• Ella Chibnall - Sport and Exercise Science and The Waikato Polytechnic Cup
• Mikaela Blaikie - The Senior Languages Cup  (Mikaela is a Year 12 student)
• Saneng Taing - Accounting and the Ankersmit Cup.


New Zealand School of Tourism Student of the Year
• Stella Bell

The Prime Ministers Vocational Excellence Award
• Ruby Lewin

The David Johnstone Charitable Trust Scholarship
• Sophie Mansill

University of Canterbury School of Forestry High Achievers Award
• Lucy Boucher

University of Canterbury Emerging Leaders Scholarship
• Caitlin Evison

Lincoln University Netball Scholarship
• Sophie Reeves

University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship
• Talia Nicol
• Harper Smith

University of Otago Performance Entrance Scholarship
• Holly Mills
• Olivia Fellows-Ford
• Kate Monkley

University of Otago Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship
• Ella Chibnall
• Emily Rich

University of Waikato Ko Te Tangata Scholarship
• Scarlett Brooker
• Jessica Butterworth
• Alice Fromont
• Charli Herbert
• Teri MacDonald
• Charlotte Pyke
• Jessica Vergeest

University of Waikato Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship
• Sarah Miller
• Anna Wilson

University of Canterbury Emerging Leaders Scholarship
University of Waikato Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship
• Rosie Bedford

University of Waikato Sir Edmund Hillary Scholarship
University of Otago Performance Entrance Scholarship
• Georgina Harris

University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship
University of Otago Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship
• Emma McKay

University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship
University of Waikato Te Paewai o te Rangi Scholarship for Outstanding Academic Achievement
University of Otago Dux Scholarship
• Tiana Mayo

University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship
University of Otago Academic Excellence Scholarship
• Joyce Hu

University of Auckland Māori Academic Excellence Scholarship
University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship
University of Otago Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship
• Keely Bowler

University of Auckland Top Achiever Scholarship
University of Otago Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship
Te Paewai o te Rangi University of Waikato Scholarship for Outstanding Academic Achievement
Auckland University of Technology Academic Excellence Scholarship
Victoria University of Wellington School Leavers Scholarship for Excellence
• Elizabeth Chan

University of Otago New Frontiers Scholarship

 • Sarah Martin

Cultural Awards

Piki Mahuta Essay Competition

• Holly Mills

Marion Slaney International Award The student who has promoted international understanding
• Hyewon Kim

Lt Col. John Manchester Allen Prize for the student who has produced the best commemoration-themed speech or essay
• Tiana Mayo

Service Awards

Student Council Cup - A student who has contributed positively and willingly throughout the year
• Sofia Kent

The Tukua/Rakena Award for Māori Leadership
• Olivia Holten

The Bianca Flintoff Memorial Cup For commitment to Boarding
• Samantha Caldwell

Peacocke Cup for Services to Boarding
• Hannah Wallbank

Fullerton Smith Cup For Senior Boarder
• Nicole Rogers

Most Helpful Girl to the Head Prefect
• Emily Rich

Faith in Action Award

This award recognises students who demonstrate academic endeavour in Religious Education and Christian Behaviour

• Year 11 - Holly Astwood
• Year 12 - Rachel Major
• Year 13 - Emma McKay

House Awards

Most Helpful Girl to the Head of House

• Blake - Saskia Johns
• Hillary - Madeline Peach
• Ross - Fyfe Nicholson
• Scott - Olivia Fellows-Ford
• Shackleton - Paige Landon
• Wilson - Sasha Matuschka

Major Awards

Arts Laureate

• Kate Seager

Sportswoman of the Year

• Gina McCarthy

Jean Anderson Memorial Prize for Service to the Junior School

• Olivia McLennan

Bishop’s Awards - for Contribution and Commitment to the Christian Life of the School

• Teri MacDonald
• Jasmine Singh-Ark

Red Girdle Awards - for a student best reflecting the qualities desirable in a Dio Girl

• Lucy Boucher
• Olivia Holten
• Teri MacDonald
• Olivia McLennan
• Holly Mills
• Emily Rich
• Kate Seager
• Anna Wilson

Special Awards

Principal’s Service Award for Exemplary Citizenship

• Jessica Foster
• Charli Herbert
• Paige Landon
• Charlotte Russell

Larner Cup for Outstanding Leadership

• Holly Mills

Neckar Cup for Leading House

• Ross

Cherrington Staff Fellowship Award

• Jacqueline Smith

Fifth Overall

• Keely Bowler

Fourth Overall

• Harper Smith

Third Overall

• Anna Wilson

Proxime Accessit

• Joyce Hu

Dux of Waikato Diocesan School for Girls

Tiana Mayo (Tiana is a Year 12 student)